

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Croatian Parliament



The Croatian Parliament building on St. Mark's Square in Zagreb, opposite the seat of the Government.

1. At a glance

Croatia is a parliamentary democracy. The Croatian Parliament (*Hrvatski sabor*) is a unicameral body. According to the 1990 Constitution, the Croatian Parliament may have a minimum of 100 and a maximum of 160 Members (MPs). They are elected directly by secret ballot based on universal suffrage for a four-year term in 12 constituencies: 140 MPs are elected from 10 constituencies in the country, each providing 14 MPs chosen from party lists or independent lists. Seats are distributed according to the d'Hondt method and the electoral threshold is 5%. Three MPs are elected in a special constituency by Croatians residing abroad, and eight are elected by members of the national ethnic minorities in the country, in a special (national) constituency.

Currently the Croatian Parliament has 151 members who were elected in the snap elections on 11 September 2016, only 10 months after the previous polls. No party won an outright majority. The Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ/EPP) and its allies, led by Mr. Andrej Plenković, came first, ahead of the People's Coalition, led by the Social Democratic Party (SDP/S&D).

The current coalition government, led by Prime Minister Andrej Plenković, is formed by the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ/EPP) and the Croatian People's Party-Liberal Democrats (HNS/Not affiliated).

2. Composition

Results of the elections of 11 September 2016					
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats	
HDZ	Hrvatska demokratska zajednica (HDZ) and its allies Croatian Democratic Union	epp	36,27	61	
SDP	Socijaldemokratska partija Hrvatske (SDP) and its allies (People's Coalition) Social Democratic Party	S&D	33.82	54	
MOST NEZAVISNIH LISTA	Most nezavisnih lista (Most) Bridge of Independent Lists	Not affiliated	9,91	13	
	Others			13	
Turnout: 52,59%					
The next Parliamentary elections must take place in autumn 2020 at the latest.					

3. Officeholders

Speaker of the Croatian Parliament



Mr Gordan Jandroković (HDZ/EPP), since 5 May 2017

Chairperson of the European Affairs Committee



Mr Domagoj Ivan Milošević (HDZ/EPP), since 28 October 2016

Secretary-General of the Croatian Parliament: Mr Davor Orlović, since 14 October 2016

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Croatian MEPs in	Yes
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Croatian MEPs in	Yes
committee meetings	
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No
Croatian Parliament	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.sabor.hr
- Rules of procedure in English
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the Croatian Parliament to the Interparliamentary EU
 Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in Zagreb

6. Contacts

	Brussels-based contact of the Croatian	
EP Directorate for Relations with National	Parliament:	
Parliaments:		
	Ms Tanja Babić	
Mr Luis Balsells Traver	, and the second	
Office MTY 08R016, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 06R012, 1047 Brussels	
Tel.: +32 2 28 32386	Phone +32 2 28 41612	
luis.balsells@europarl.europa.eu	tanja.babic@natparl.ep.europa.eu	