

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Maltese Parliament



1. At a glance

Malta is a democratic republic with a representative democracy. The Constitution of Malta provides for a Parliament which shall consist of the President of the Republic of Malta and the House of Representatives.

The House of Representatives (*Kamra tad-Deputati*) is currently composed of 67 Members of Parliament who are elected using proportional representation by way of a single transferable vote system from an odd number of electoral divisions/constituencies. A party that wins a majority of votes, but does not enjoy a majority of seats, is awarded, proportionately, additional seats in order to ensure a parliamentary majority. Currently Malta is divided into 13 five-seat constituencies from where Members are elected for a five-year term.

Last elections were held in June 2017 for all the members of the House of Representatives, following the premature dissolution of this body on 1 May 2017 (general elections had previously been held in March 2013). 65 Members were elected directly, while two additional members were elected in accordance with the correctional mechanism in the Constitution to ensure that the number of seats in the House of Representatives reflects the result of the election.

There are currently three political parties represented in Parliament; the Labour Party (*Partit Laburista*) in Government; and the Nationalist Party (*Partit Nazzonalista*) and the Democratic Party (*Partit Demokratiku*) in opposition. The main functions of Parliament are the enactment of laws and the scrutiny of the Executive.

2. Composition

Results of the elections of 3 June 2017				
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats
Partit Laburista	Partit Laburista (PL) Labour Party	S&D	55.04	37
	Partit Nazzjonalista (PN) Nationalist Party	epp oup	43.68	28
Partit Demokratiku	Partit Demokratiku (PD) Democratic Party	renew europe.	1,6	2
				67
Turnout: 92.06%				
Next election to be held in 2022 at the latest.				

3. Officeholders

Speaker of the Maltese Parliament



Hon. <u>Dr. Anglu Farrugia</u> (PL/S&D) Sworn in on 6 April 2013 re-elected on 24 June 2017

Chairperson of the Foreign and EU Affairs Committee



Hon. Edward Zammit Lewis (PL/S&D)

Clerk of the House: Mr Ray Scicluna, since January 2012

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Maltese MEPs in	No		
plenary sittings			
Participation rights for Maltese MEPs in	MEPs have a right to participate in meetings		
committee meetings	of the Foreign and European Affairs		
	Committee but they do not have the right to		
	vote.		
Availability of videoconferencing system in	Yes		
the Maltese Parliament			

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.parlament.mt/
- Rules of Procedure
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the Maltese House of Representatives to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Liaison Office in Malta

6. Contacts

Brussels-based contact of the Maltese National Council:
Mr Ian Paul Bajada
Office MTY 04R030
1047 Brussels
Tel.: +32 2 28 42804
ianpaul.bajada@natparl.ep.europa.eu