

Directorate-General for the Presidency Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Czech Chamber of Deputies



Thun Palace, seat of the Chamber of Deputies

1. At a glance

The Czech Parliament (*Parlament České republiky*) is made up of two Chambers, both directly elected – the Chamber of Deputies (*Poslanecká sněmovna*) and the Senate (*Senát*). The 200 Members of the Chamber of Deputies are elected for four-year terms. Members are elected by secret, general, equal and direct elections pursuant to the principles of proportional representation.

The Chamber of Deputies has greater powers than the Senate, especially regarding parliamentary scrutiny, as the Government is solely responsible to the Chamber of Deputies. The Chamber is the only body that debates and decides the state budget. It also has greater legislative powers than the Senate. In the case of proposals for regular laws, if the Senate has rejected a legislative proposal or proposed amendments then Chamber may vote to override the Senate by a simple majority of votes. However, in the case of proposed constitutional laws or proposals for the expression of consent with the ratification of international agreements or in certain cases pertaining to defence and security, the Chamber and the Senate have equal powers.

Following the October 2017 elections, nine parties entered the lower house, resulting in the most fragmented Chamber of Deputies in the history of the Czech Republic. The populist movement ANO 2011 led by Andrej Babiš clearly won the elections but needed another party to create a majority coalition government. In January 2018, the government failed a parliamentary vote of confidence, as no other party would agree to a coalition with ANO 2011 given the EU-fraud allegations faced by Andrej Babiš. In July 2018, after eight months of negotiations, a coalition under Prime Minister Babiš was reached between ANO 2011 (Renew) and ČSSD (S&D) with the support of the Communist party (KSČM/GUE/NGL). This is the first time the Communist party participates in national politics since the fall of the communist regime in 1989.

2. Composition

	Results of the elections of 21-22 Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats
ANGER	ANO 2011	renew europe.	29,6	78
ODS 🔨	Občanská demokratická strana (ODS) Civic Democratic Party	EUROPEAN CONSERVATIVES AND REFORMISTS GROUP	11,3	25
PIRÁTSKÁ STRANA	Česká pirátská strana (Piráti) Czech Pirate Party (Pirates)	The Greene EFA the European Parlament	10,8	22
SPD	Svoboda a přímá demokracie (SPD) Freedomand Direct Democracy		10,6	22

(}*KSČ M	Komunistická strana Čech a Moravy (KSČM) Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia		7,8	15
9	Česká strana sociálně demokratická (ČSSD) Czech Social Democratic Party	S&D	7,3	15
KDU-CSL	Křesť anská a demokratická unie - Československá strana lidová (KDU-ČSL) Christian and Democratic Union – Czechoslovak People's Party	Серр	5,8	10
TOP 09	TOP 09	Серр	5,3	7
STAROSTOVÉ	Starostové a Nezávislí (STAN) Mayors and Independent	Серр	5,2	6
	· · ·			200
	Turnout: 60,8% The next elections must take place in autumn	2021 at the lat	est.	

3. Office holders



Secretary-General of the Chamber of Deputies: Mr Jan Morávek, since 1st July 2017

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Czech MEPs in	
plenary sittings	authorisation of the Chamber of Deputies
Participation rights for Czech MEPs in	Partially (Czech MEPs may attend committee
committee meetings	meetings and may take part in their
	proceedings without having a right to vote or
	to move motions and amendments.)
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No
the Czech Chamber of Deputies	

5. Information links

- Official website: <u>http://www.psp.cz/</u>
- Rules of Procedure in English
- <u>List of committees</u>
- Recent documents submitted by the Czech Chamber of Deputies to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Liaison Office in Prague

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the Czech Chamber of Deputies:
Ms Vivi CHAVAKI	Ms Eva Tetourová
Office MTY 08R001	Office MTY 03R012
1047 Brussels	1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 28 44960	Tel.: +32 2 28 43312
paraskevi.chavaki@europarl.europa.eu	eva.tetourova@natparl.ep.europa.eu