

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

# Factsheet: UK House of Commons



# 1. At a glance

The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy with a bicameral Parliament. The lower House, called the House of Commons, consists of 650 Members elected directly by the citizens using the first-past-the-post system in every constituency that each Member is elected to represent. Following the results of the latest election, held on 8th June 2017, the Conservative party lost its majority, resulting in the formation of a minority government with an arrangement with the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) of Northern Ireland.

The functions and powers of the House of Commons (as those of the House of Lords) are governed by a number of rules, some of which are written down and are called 'Standing Orders'. Other rules are set out in resolutions of the House. However, much of what Parliament does is determined by 'custom and practice', that is unwritten convention established through continued use over time.

The House of Commons is the main legislative body of the UK Parliament. Beyond its legislative function, the House exercises democratic scrutiny over the Government through its parliamentary committees and during Prime Minister's Question Time. Should the Government fail to retain the confidence of a majority in the House of Commons, either by the House defeating the Government on a confidence motion or by defeating a policy that the Government has indicated is a 'matter of confidence', Parliament is dissolved and the Government calls a general election.

#### 2. Composition

	Results of the elections of 8	June 2017		
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats
CONSERVATIVE	Conservative and Unionist Party	ECR	42.4	317
Labour	Labour Party	S&D	40.0	262
SNPX	Scottish National Party	••	3	35
Liberal Democrats	Liberal Democrats	***	7.4	12
DUP	<b>Democratic Unionist Party</b>	Non-attached	0,9	10
Sinn Féin	Sinn Féin	GUE/NGL	0,7	7
Plaid Party of Cymru Wales	Plaid Cymru	•0	0,5	4
	Others		5,1	7
			100%	650

# 3. Officeholders

# **Speaker of the House of Commons**



Sir Lindsay Hoyle MP, since 4 November 2019

# **Chair of European Scrutiny Committee**



**Sir William Cash MP,** since 15 July 2015

Clerk of the House of Commons: Mr John Benger (named on 5 February 2019)

## 4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for UK MEPs in plenary sittings	No
Participation rights for UK MEPs in committee meetings	No
Availability of videoconferencing system in the House of Commons	Yes

# 5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.parliament.uk/business/commons/
- Standing Orders of the House of Commons
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the House of Commons to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in London

## 6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:

Mr Luis Balsells Office MTY 08R016, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 32386 luis.balsells@ep.europa.eu Brussels-based contact of the House of Commons:

Mr Kilian Bourke Office MTY 03R006, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 44656 kilian.bourke@natparl.ep.europa.eu