Jean Monnet dialogue

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT – SOBRANIE: « JEAN MONNET DIALOGUE» FOR PEACE AND DEMOCRACY

PROGRAMME - 22 - 23 June 2019

17.00 - 19.00 *Opening Plenary Session:* update on the outcome of the Working Group on the Rules of Procedure

Mr President Talat XHAFERI, Speaker of the Sobranie

Mr Eduard KUKAN, Mr Knut FLECKENSTEIN, Mr Ivo VAJGL, MEPs

Discussion with: political parties (5 mins per political party in alphabetical order according to English spelling):

- A4A
- ALTERNATIVA
- BESA
- DPA
- DUI
- SDSM
- VMRO-DPMNE
- VMRO-DPMNE (Independent)

20.00 - 22.00 Welcome Dinner: informal bilateral discussions

Mr President Talat XHAFERI, Speaker of the Sobranie

Mr Eduard KUKAN, Mr Knut FLECKENSTEIN, Mr Ivo VAJGL, Members of the European Parliament

Sunday, 23 June

9.30 - 11.00 Plenary Session I: Reform of the Rules of Procedure (continued from opening plenary session)

Co-chaired by Mr Talat XHAFERI and Mr Ivo VAJGL (3 MEPs always sitting together but rotate the Chair per session).

Response from political parties:

- A4A
- ALTERNATIVA
- BESA
- DPA
- DUI





Jean Monnet dialogue

- SDSM
- VMRO-DPMNE
- VMRO-DPMNE (Independent)

11.00 - 11.30 Coffee Break

11.30 - 13.30 Plenary Session II: New Rules - New working methods: a culture of dialogue and compromise for the effective implementation of the Rules of Procedure (i.e overcoming obstacles for effective legislation in the Sobranie)

Co-chaired by President Mr Talat XHAFERI and Mr Eduard KUKAN

Discussion with the political parties on the internal security of the Sobranie:

- A4A
- ALTERNATIVA
- BESA
- DPA
- DUI
- SDSM
- VMRO-DPMNE
- VMRO-DPMNE (Independent)

13.30 - 14.45 Buffet Lunch at the Sobranie

15.00 - 17.00 Plenary Session III: institutional independence and security

Co-chaired by President Mr Talat XHAFERI and Mr Knut FLECKENSTEIN

Presentation by Niall O'NEILL, Director for Institutional Security "The European Parliament's establishment of internal security for the institution" (via video conference)

Response from political parties:

- A4A
- ALTERNATIVA
- BESA
- DPA
- DUI
- SDSM
- VMRO-DPMNE
- VMRO-DPMNE (Independent)

17.00 - 17.30 Coffee break

17.30 - 18.30 Conclusions & Next Steps





Jean Monnet dialogue

Co-chaired by President Mr Talat XHAFERI and Mr Ivo VAJGL (3 MEPs always sitting together but rotate the Chair per session).

18.30 - 19.00 Press Conference at the Sobranie

20.00 - 22.00 Working Dinner with Political Party Leaders

Introductions:

 $\label{eq:mr_equality} \textbf{Mr} \ \textbf{Eduard} \ \textbf{KUKAN}, \ \textbf{Mr} \ \textbf{Knut} \ \textbf{FLECKENSTEIN}, \ \textbf{Mr} \ \textbf{Ivo} \ \textbf{VAJGL}$

Mr President Talat XHAFERI, Speaker of the Sobranie

Mr Zoran ZAEV, Prime Minister and Party Leader SDSM

Mr Hristijan MICKOSKI, Party Leader, VMRO-DPMNE

Mr Menduh THACI, Party Leader DPA

Mr Ali AHMETI, Party Leader DUI

Mr Zijadin SELA, A4A Party Leader

Mr Biljal KASAMI, BESA Party Leader

Mr. Afrim Gashi, ALTERNATIVA

END OF PROGRAMME



