

Directorate-General for the Presidency Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

# Factsheet: The Hellenic Parliament



## **<u>1. At a glance</u>**

Greece is a parliamentary democracy. The Hellenic Parliament is comprised of 300 Members who are directly elected by the citizens under a combination of voting systems. Voting in Greece is compulsory.

The main functions of the Parliament are to vote on legislation (which can be introduced by Government ministers, individual Members or political groups in the Parliament, in accordance with the constitution) and to exercise democratic control over the activities of the Government and other state agencies.

Elections normally take place every four years, but early elections may be called by the Prime Minister at any time. Early elections are also foreseen by the Constitution in the case of loss of confidence to the Government following a relevant vote in Parliament, or in the case of inability to elect the President of the Republic. Following the elections on 20 September 2015, SYRIZA (GUE/NGL) was re-elected as the largest party and continued its coalition government with the Independent Greeks (no affiliation in the EP) under Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras.

### 2. Composition

	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats
YPIZA 💕	Synaspismos Rizospastikis Aristeras (SYRIZA) Coalition of Radical Left	GUE/NGL	35.5	145
NEASHMOKPATIA_	Nea Democratia New Democracy	() ()	28.1	75
e	Chrisi Avgi Golden Dawn	Non- attached	7.0	18
ΠΑΣΟΚ	Panellinio Sosialistiko Kinima (PASOK) Pan-Hellenic Socialist Movement	S&D	6.3	17
KŘE	Kommounistiko Komma Elladas Communist Party of Greece	Non- attached	5,6	15
TO ROTAMI	To Potami The River	S&D	4,1	11
EN ESCAPTINTO	Aneksartitoi Ellines (ANEL) Independent Greeks	No affiliation in the EP	3.7	10
×	Enosi Kentroon Union of centrists	No affiliation in the EP	3.4	9
	Others		6.3	
	Turnout: 56.60%		100%	300

### **<u>3. Officeholders</u>**



### **4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament**

Participation rights for Greek MEPs in plenary sittings	No
Participation rights for Greek MEPs in committee meetings	Partially (Greek MEPs have the right to attend the deliberations of the European Affairs Committee but not to vote)
Availability of videoconferencing system in Hellenic Parliament	Yes

### **5. Information links**

- Official website: <u>http://www.hellenicparliament.gr/</u>
- <u>Rules of procedure (Greek only)</u>
- List of committees
- European Parliament Information Office in Athens

### **<u>6. Contacts</u>**

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the Hellenic Parliament
Mr Paolo Atzori	Ms Despina Fola
Office WIE 05U043, 1047 Brussels	Office WIE 06U01, 1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 28 32386	Phone +32 2 28 44564
<u>luis.balsells@europarl.europa.eu</u>	<u>despina.fola@natparl.ep.europa.eu</u>

Last updated on 19/01/2016. Photo credits: Hellenic Parliament.