

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Swedish Riksdag



1. At a glance

Sweden is a Constitutional Monarchy and a parliamentary democracy. The Riksdag is a unicameral Parliament composed of 349 Members elected by proportional representation.

The Riksdag is the supreme decision-making assembly in Sweden. It adopts legislation either in the form of a Government bill or in the form of a private member's motion from one or several members of the Riksdag. All legislative proposals are first considered by a committee before the Riksdag takes a decision. The Riksdag is responsible for determining central government expenditure and revenue. It does this after the Government has submitted proposals in the Budget Bill. The Riksdag examines the work of the Government and of public agencies. The Government cannot promote any EU policies without the support of the Riksdag.

The Riksdag's and Government's work with EU issues is carried out in various forums including the Chamber of the Riksdag, the parliamentary committees and the Committee on EU Affairs. The Riksdag draws up Sweden's foreign policy together with the Government. The Advisory Council on Foreign Affairs is a body for consultation on foreign affairs between the Government and the Riksdag. Areas of foreign policy that are determined by the Riksdag include what countries Sweden is to deploy peacekeeping forces to and what proportion of gross national income is to be spent on development assistance.

2. Composition

	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats (9/2018)
\$	Arbetarepartiet Socialdemokraterna, (The Social Democratic Party) S	S&D	28,26%	100
W	Moderaterna, (The Moderate Party), M	Ó	19,84%	70
*	Sverigedemokraterna, (Sweden Democrats) SD	ECR	17,53%	62
	Centerpartiet, C (Centre Party)	*	8,61%	31
V	Vänsterpartiet, V (Left Party)	GUENGL	8%	28
K D	Kristdemokraterna, KD (Christian Democrats)	(i)	6,32%	22
	Liberalerna, L (Liberal People's Party)	**	5,49%	20
	Miljöpartiet de Gröna, MP (Swedish Green Party)	• 3	4,41%	16

3. Officeholders

Speaker of the Riksdag



Mr Andreas Norlén (M/EPP), since 24 September 2018

Chair of the Committee on European Union Affairs



Ms Åsa Westlund (SAP/S&D), since 3 October 2018

Head of the Riksdag Administration: Mr Ingvar Mattson, since 24 September 2018

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Swedish MEPs in	No
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Swedish MEPs in	No
committee meetings	
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No
the Swedish Riksdag	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.riksdagen.se/en/
- Rules and procedures in English
- List of committees
- The Committee on European Union Affairs
- Recent documents submitted by the Swedish Riksdag to the Interparliamentary EU
 Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in Stockholm

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the	Brussels-based contact of the Swedish		
EP Directorate for Relations with National	Riksdag:		
Parliaments:			
Mr Paolo ATZORI	Mr Jakob SJÖVALL		
Office MTY 08R020, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 03R004, 1047 Brussels		
Phone +32 2 28 43306	Phone +32 2 28 42380		
paolo.atzori@europarl.europa.eu	jakob.sjovall@natparl.ep.europa.eu		