

Directorate-General for the Presidency Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

országgyűlés Factsheet: The Hungarian National Assembly



1. At a glance

Hungary is a republic and a parliamentary democracy. The Hungarian National Assembly (Magyar Országgyűlés) is a unicameral body. The 199 Members of the National Assembly are directly elected by the citizens.

Members of the National Assembly are elected in a one-round, mixed electoral system in every four years at the latest. Elections are based on the principles of proportional representation. On 8 April 2018, at the last elections, 106 Members were elected in individual voting districts, 93 Members were elected from national-level lists, which could be put forward by a political party or a national minority. Out of the 199 Members, 24 are women (12%). The voting age for the parliamentary elections is 18 years.

The Assembly includes 14 standing committees with two additional committees. The standing committees initiate measures, express opinions and put forth proposals, make a final decision in cases set down in the law and in the provisions of the Rules of Procedure, and participate in monitoring the work of the government. The two additional committees (Committee on Legislation and Committee Representing the Nationalities) fulfil unique tasks that are different from the responsibilities of standing committees. The current Hungarian government under Prime Minister Mr Viktor ORBÁN (FIDESZ/EPP) is composed of the FIDESZ/EPP - KDNP/EPP coalition. The current President of Hungary is Mr János ÁDER, a former MEP of FIDESZ/EPP.

2. Composition

	Results of the parliamentary elections of 8 April 2018					
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seat s		
FIDESZ	FIDESZ- Magyar Polgári Szövetség - FIDESZ - Hungarian Civic Alliance - KDNP- Kereszténydemokrata Néppárt Christian Democratic Peoples' Party	Серр	66,83%	133		
mszp pórbeszód	Magyar Szocialista Párt (MSZP) - Hungarian Socialist Party - PM - Párbeszéd Magyarországért Dialogue for Hungary	S&D	10,05%	20		
JOBBIK Magyarorszagert Mozgalow	Jobbik Magyarországért Mozgalom (JOBBIK) Movement for a Better Hungary	Non- attached	13,07%	26		
œ	Demokratikus Koalíció (DK) Democratic Coalition	S&D	4,52%	9		
8 Imp 2018	Lehet Más a Politika (LMP) Politics Can Be Different		4,02%	8		
ΕΟΥΰΠ	EGYÜTT Together (This political group was dissolved in July 2018. Their MP is currently non-attached.)	Non- attached	0,5%	1		

Non-attached	0,5%	1		
MNOÖ –Magyarországi Németek Országos Önkormányzata Countrywide self-government of the Hungarian Germans	0,5%	1		
	100%	199		
Turnout: 69,73%				
The next National Assembly elections must take place in spring 2022 at the latest.				

3. Officeholders

Speaker of the Hungarian National Assembly



Mr László KÖVÉR (FIDESZ/EPP), since 8 May 2018 Chair of the Committee on European Affairs



Mr Richárd HÖRCSIK (FIDESZ/EPP), since 8 May 2018

Director-General of the Hungarian Parliament: Dr György SUCH, since 1 January 2013

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Hungarian MEPs in plenary sittings	Partially (In debates on European affairs or when a report submitted by an MEP is debated)
Participation rights for Hungarian MEPs in committee meetings	Partially (If invited and in consulting capacity)
Availability of videoconferencing system in the	No
Hungarian National Assembly	

5. Information links

- Official website: <u>http://www.parlament.hu</u>
- <u>The operation of the National Assembly</u>
- <u>List of committees</u>
- <u>Recent documents submitted by the National Assembly to the Interparliamentary EU</u> <u>Information Exchange (IPEX)</u>
- European Parliament Liaison Office in Budapest

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the Hungarian National Assembly:		
Ms Zsuzsanna BALÁZS	Mr Csaba HUSZÁR		
Office: MTY 07R022, 1047 Brussels	Office: MTY 03R014, 1047 Brussels		
Phone +32 2 28 43608	Phone +32 2 28 44866		
<u>zsuzsanna.balazs@ep.europa.eu</u>	<u>csaba.huszar@natparl.ep.europa.eu</u>		

Last updated on 16/09/2018. Photo credits: Hungarian National Assembly.