

Factsheet:

The National Assembly of Bulgaria



1. At a glance

The National Assembly of Bulgaria consists of 240 members elected by proportional representation in multi-seat constituencies. Political parties must gather a minimum of 4% of the national vote in order to enter the Assembly. Bulgaria has a multi-party system. The Assembly is responsible for enactment of laws, approval of the budget, scheduling of presidential elections, selection and dismissal of the Prime Minister and other ministers, declaration of war, concluding peace and deployment of troops outside of Bulgaria, and ratification of international treaties and agreements. It is headed and presided by the Chairperson of the National Assembly of Bulgaria.

2. Composition

Results of the parliamentary elections on 26 March 2017					
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats	
*******	Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria (GERB)	Серр	39,58	95	
<u> </u>	Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP)	S&D	33,33	80	
	United Patriots (UP)	ECR	11,25	27	
DICE OF THE PROPERTY OF THE PR	Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS)	renew europe.	10,83	26	
ВОЛЯ	Volya	-	5,00	12	

3. Officeholders

President of the National Assembly of Bulgaria



Ms Tzveta Karayancheva (GERB)

Chairperson of the Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds



Mr Dragomir Velkov Stoynev, Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP), since July 2019

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Bulgarian MEPs in	Attendance only
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Bulgarian MEPs in	Only EU Affairs committee
committee meetings	•
Availability of videoconferencing system in	Yes
the National Assembly of Bulgaria	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.parliament.bg/en
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the National Assembly of Bulgaria to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Liaison Office in Bulgaria

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the Bulgarian Parliament:
Mrs Diana Ciuche	Mr Hristo Kraevsi
Office MTY 07R018, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 05R028, 1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 28341197	Phone +32 2 2848699
diana.ciuche@europarl.europa.eu	hristo.kraevski@natparl.ep.europa.eu