

Directorate-General for Internal Policies of the Union Directorate for Citizens' Rights and Constitutional Affairs Secretariat of the Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality

Inter-parliamentary Committee Meeting¹ International Women's Day 2018

"EMPOWERING WOMEN AND GIRLS IN MEDIA AND ICT: KEY FOR THE FUTURE"

Thursday, 8 March 2018, from 09.00 to 12.30

European Parliament in Brussels - room József Antall 2Q2

08.15 - 09.00 Distribution of entrance badges for pre-registered participants at the European parliament's Ex INFO POINT at the Esplanade Solidarność

DRAFT PROGRAMME

09.00 - 09.45

Opening speeches by

Vilija Blinkevičiūtė, Chair of the Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality

Antonio Tajani, President of the European Parliament

Věra Jourová, European Commissioner for Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality (tbc)

Keynote speeches by

¹ Organised in collaboration with the Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments.

The event will also benefit from the participation of valuable partners such as the European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE) and the Bulgarian Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

Sarah Gavron, film director of "Les suffragettes" Pilar Jurado, singer, founder of MadwomenFest festival (tbc)

09.45 - 10.35 "Women shaping media"

Moderator: MEP Liliana Rodrigues (S&D, Portugal)

Presentation by: Representative of the Council of Europe (tbc)

Debate Concluding remarks: MEP Michaela Šojdrová (EPP, Czech Republic)

10.35 - 11.25 "Empowering women and girls through digital inclusion"

Moderator: MEP Agnieszka Kozłowska-Rajewicz (EPP, Poland)

Presentation by: Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, European Commission

Debate Concluding remarks: MEP Angelika Mlinar (ALDE, Austria) (tbc)

11.25 - 12.15 "Women's movements on the rise: advancing equality in the digital age"

Moderator: MEP Terry Reintke (Greens/EFA, Germany)

Presentation by: Tarana Burke, Senior Director, Girls for Gender Equity, founder of the "Me Too" movement (tbc)

Debate

Concluding remarks: MEP Angela Vallina (GUE/NGL, Spain)

12:20 Closing remarks:

Dimitrios Papadimoulis, Vice-President, Chair of the High-level Group on Gender Equality and Diversity (tbc)

Vilija Blinkevičiūtė, Chair of the Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality
