

Европейски парламент Parlamento Europeo Evropský parlament Europa-Parlamente Europäisches Parlament Europa Parlament Ευρωπαϊκό Κοινοβούλιο European Parliament Parlement européen Parlaimint na hEorpa Europski parlament Parlamento europeo Eiropas Parlaments Europos Parlamentas Európai Parlament Parlament Ewropew Europees Parlement Parlament Europejski Parlamento European Európsky parlament Evropski parlament Europan parlamentti Europaparlamentet

Transparency Register Contact Group

Summary

meeting of Tuesday 26 June 2018

(12:00 - 13:00)

Room PHS 06B 054

BRUSSELS

The meeting was chaired by:

Ms GUILLAUME, Vice-President, and Ms HÜBNER, Chair of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs

1. <u>Chair's announcements</u>

The Contact Group

- <u>heard</u> Ms GUILLAUME, Vice-President, introduce the item by reiterating the lead negotiators' commitment to conducting the negotiations as transparently as possible, and by recalling the negotiation documents that had been circulated to Members of the Contact Group;
- further <u>heard</u> her recall the specific circumstances of the negotiations for the conclusion of an inter-institutional agreement on the Transparency Register which were distinct from inter-institutional negotiations on legislative files or in other domains;
- <u>heard</u> Ms HÜBNER, Chair of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs, report that the stakeholder-information session of the three institutions previously planned for June 2018 had been postponed until autumn 2018.

2. <u>Debriefing by the negotiators on the second round of negotiations on the</u> <u>Commission proposal for a mandatory Transparency Register, on 12 June 2018</u>

The Contact Group

- heard Ms HÜBNER report that, at the second round of negotiations, the two lead

624.942/CPG/TRCG

negotiators had reiterated the urgency of concluding an agreement in due time before the end of the parliamentary term in view of the necessary internal procedures of the institutions for adopting and implementing such an agreement;

- <u>heard</u> Ms HÜBNER report that the Council Presidency, with a view to facilitating a meaningful participation of the Council, had obtained the support of a large majority of Member States to propose a political declaration by which Member States would publicly and voluntarily commit their Permanent Representatives and Deputy Permanent Representatives to meet only with registered interest representatives during the six months leading up to and the six months of their respective Presidencies;
- heard Ms HÜBNER further report that the lead negotiators had presented proposals on conditionality for Parliament's side and that, in full respect of the free mandate of Members guaranteed under primary law and with a view to establishing an approach that would further strengthen the culture of transparency in Parliament and support the constructive dynamics of the inter-institutional negotiations, the lead negotiators had elaborated a proposal for a voluntary declaration for Members who wished to adopt the systematic practice of only meeting with registered interest representatives, and, in addition, a proposal for a tool for Members who wished to publish their meetings with interest representatives on Parliament's website;
- <u>held</u> an exchange of views with the participation of Mr WIELAND, EPP Group, Mr LEINEN, S&D Group, Ms RUOHONEN-LERNER, ECR Group, Ms PAGAZAURTUNDUA RUIZ, ALDE Group, and Mr JÁVOR, replacing Mr GIEGOLD, Greens/EFA Group, during which broad support for the approach of the lead negotiators was expressed, and which focussed, inter alia, on:
 - the scope of the agreement;
 - aspects of conditionality and definitions of technical terms;
 - the freedom of Members' mandate;
 - the culture of transparency in the EU institutions;
 - the different roles and functions Members had in exercising their mandate;
- <u>heard</u> Ms GUILLAUME thank Members for their support and note that the lead negotiators would present their approach to the Conference of Presidents for endorsement, on 27 June 2018.

3. <u>Any other business</u>

There was none.

ATTENDANCE LIST

Meeting of 26 June 2018 12:00 - 13:00 Brussels

Lead Negotiators	Ms GUILLAUME Sylvie Ms HÜBNER Danuta	
<u>Members</u>	Mr WIELAND Rainer Mr LEINEN Jo Ms RUOHONEN-LERNER Pirkko Ms PAGAZAURTUNDÚA RUIZ M Mr JÁVOR Benedek	
<u>Also present</u>	Mr WINKLER Markus, Deputy Se	cretary-General
Cabinet of the President	Mr WEISS Michael Mr GAT Akos Bence	
Office of the Secretary-Genera	<u>I</u> Mr SCHONARD Pascal Mr BARTOSZEWICZ MALICKI P	iotr
Office of the Deputy Secretary-	<u>General</u> Mr SCHWARZ Jakob	
CoP Secretariat	Ms WOLLNY Sonia Mr ROHLJE Gregor Ms MILSOM Rebecca	
DG Presidency	Mr LANE Nikolas Ms BAUER Elisabeth Ms THIEL Marie Mr HOFKAMP Jelmer Mr VAN DEN BOGART Flupke	
DG IPOL	Mr NOVAK Petr	
Legal Service	Mr RÖSSLEIN Ulrich	
Political Groups	Ms GHEORGHIU Cornelia, EPP Mr CERASANI Francesco, S&D Mr KOTRO Olli, ECR Ms SYSKA Oliwia, ECR Mr WIJNSMA Sietse, ALDE	624.942/CPG/TRCG

Ms VOGEL Melanie, Greens/EFA Ms ASLETT-RYDBJERG Maj, GUE/NGL Ms VALLET Joelle, ENF

Members' Assistants

Ms BARREIRA Lucie Mr MATLAK Michal Mr LANG Sebastian Mr PESCHER Fabian Mr VAN DER LOO Diederik Mr BECK Christian Mr FAILLA Michele Mr CERCAS FERNANDEZ Alejandro Mr SAEZ Antonio