

Directorate-General for the Presidency Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments





1. At a glance

The competence and functions of the Sejm are determined by the principle of separation of powers enshrined in the Constitution of the Republic. The Constitution of 1997 retained the principle of bicameralism of the legislature. The Sejm and the Senate sitting jointly constitute the National Assembly. Characteristically, the new Constitution conferred very extensive powers on the Sejm. On the other hand, the powers of the Senate are limited. Every 4 years, 460 deputies are elected to the Sejm. The terms of office of the Sejm and the Senate commence at the date the Sejm meets for its first sitting.

In Article 95 (1) of the Constitution, the Sejm and the Senate are mentioned as bodies exercising legislative power, i.e. lawmaking bodies. According to Article 95 (2), the Sejm also exercises control over the activities of the Council of Ministers, which is an executive body. The Constitution provides the Sejm with a dominant role in the legislative process. For the legislative process to get started, it is necessary to introduce a bill to the Sejm.

Parliamentary elections to both the Sejm and Senate were held in Poland on 13 October 2019. The turnout reached 61.74% - second biggest score in the last 30 years (in elections in 2015 - 50.9%). The governing party Law and Justice (PiS) won the election with 43.59% of the vote against the opposition party Civic Coalition, who gained a 27.40% share. PIS party won the absolute majority also thanks to the electoral system. Since December 2017, Mateusz Morawiecki from PiS is the Prime Minister. Next elections are to be scheduled for October 2024 at latest.

2. Composition

| | SEJM | | | |
|---------------------------------|---|-------|--------|-----------------|
| | Parties | EP | % | Number of seats |
| Pis | PiS - Prawo i Sprawiedliwość (Law and Justice) | CROUP | 43.59% | 235 |
| KOALICJA OBYWATELSKA | KO- Koalicja Obywatelska (Civic Coalition) | | 27.40% | 134 |
| Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej | SLD - Sojusz Lewicy Demokratycznej (Democratic Left Alliance) | S&D | 12.56% | 49 |
| # PSL | PSL - Polskie Stronnictwo Ludowe (Polish Peasants' Party) | | 8.55% | 30 |

| KONFEDERACJA | Konfederacja Wolność i Niepodległość (Confederation Liberty and Independence) | 6.81% | 11 |
|-------------------------|---|-------|-----|
| MNIEJSZOŚĆ NIEMIECKA | Mniejszość Niemiecka (German Minority Electoral Committee) | 0.17% | 1 |
| | | | 460 |

3. Officeholders

| Marshal of the Sejm | | | |
|---------------------|--|--|--|
| | | | |

Chair of the EU Affairs Committee



Elżbieta Witek (PiS – Law and Justice)

Stanisław Tyszka (PSL - Kukiz15)

Secretary General of the Sejm: Mrs Agnieszka Kaczmarska since 2017

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

| Participation rights for Polish MEPs in plenary sittings | No | |
|--|--|--|
| Participation rights for Polish MEPs in committee meetings | Right to attend meetings and possibility of participating in the discussion. | |
| Availability of videoconferencing system in Sejm | Yes | |

5. Information links

- Official website: <u>http://www.sejm.gov.pl/</u>
- Rules of procedure in English
- <u>List of the committees</u>
- Recent documents submitted by the Sejm to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Liaison Office in Warsaw

6. Contacts

| Contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments: | Brussels-based contacts of the Polish Sejm: |
|--|---|
| | Ms Agnieszka WACIAK |
| Ms Monika MOENS DE FERNIG | Office MTY 04R014, 1047 Brussels |
| Office MTY 07R020, 1047 Brussels | Phone +32 2 28 42002 |
| Phone +32 2 28 32364 monika.moensdefernig@ep.europa.eu | agnieszka.waciak@natparl.ep.europa.eu |
| | Mr Rafal CZARSKI |
| | Office MTY 04R014, 1047 Brussels |
| | Phone +32 2 28 43063 |
| | rafal.czarski@natparl.ep.europa.eu |

Last updated on 16 January 2020. Photo credits: Polish Sejm.