

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The German Bundestag



1. At a glance

Members of the German Bundestag are elected in general, direct, free, equal and secret elections. In the current electoral term, the Bundestag is composed of 703 Members, the biggest Bundestag ever, which subject to proposals to limit its size by changing the electoral law. The President of the German Bundestag holds the second highest office of state in Germany, after the Federal President. Legislation is one of the most important tasks performed by the Bundestag. Some acts require the consent of the Bundesrat, the organ through which Germany's 16 constituent states – the Länder – participate in the legislation and administration of the Federation.

A federal election was held on 24 September 2017 to elect the Members of the 19th Bundestag. The Christian Democratic Union/Christian Social Union (CDU/CSU, both EPP) of Chancellor Angela Merkel suffered significant losses compared to the 2013 results. The same is the case for the Social Democrats. The Liberals (FDP) could celebrate their re-entry into the Bundestag after having been kicked out in 2013. As predicted, the right wing party Alternative für Deutschland (AfD) had an excellent score and entered into Bundestag for the first time becoming the biggest opposition party. For the first time in its history, the Bundestag consists of six political groups. Although there were strong intentions within the SPD on the election day to go into opposition the party decided at the end to continue the "grand coalition" after the other option for a new coalition out of CDU/CSU, FDP and Greens ("Jamaica model") had failed. The coalition holds with 398 seats a solid majority.

2. Composition

Results of the federal elections on 22 September 2017					
	Party	EP Affiliation	%	Seats	
CDU	Christlich-Demokratische Union	()	26,8	200	
CSU	Christlich-Soziale Union	(i)	6,2	46	
SPD	Sozialdemokratische Partei Deutschlands	S&D	20,5	153	
DIE LÎNKE.	DIE LINKE	GUE/NGL	9,2	69	
BÜNDNIS 90 DIE GRÜNEN	DIE GRÜNEN		8,9	67	
FDP Die Liberalen	Freie Demokratische Partei		10,7	80	
Alternative für Deutschland	Alternative für Deutschland	BCR	12,6	94	
Turnout: 75,6%					
The next federal elections will take place in 2021					

3. Officeholders

President of the German Bundestag

Chairperson of the Committee on the Affairs of the European Union





Dr Wolfgang Schäuble (CDU/EPP)

Gunther Krichbaum (CDU/EPP)

Secretary General of the German Bundestag:

Dr Horst Risse, Direktor beim Deutschen Bundestag

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for German MEPs in	No		
plenary sittings			
Participation rights for German MEPs in	Partially. They are members of the EU		
committee meetings	Affairs Committee with the right to speak but		
_	not to vote		
Availability of videoconferencing system	Yes		

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.bundestag.de
- Rules of procedure in English
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the Bundestag to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- <u>European Parliament Information Office in Berlin</u>

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the German Bundestag
Mr Pekka Nurminen	Ms Vesna Popovic
Office MTY 08R010, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 05R010, 1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 28 40572	Phone +32 2 28 32566 or +32 2 5044-386
pekka.nurminen@ep.europa.eu	vesna.popovic@bundestag.de