

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: House of Representatives of Cyprus



1. At a glance

Cyprus has a presidential system of government where the President is elected directly by the citizens every five years. At the same time, the Cypriot Parliament - referred to as the House of Representatives - is elected in separate elections, also held every five years (but in different years).

The House of Representatives is composed of 56 Members coming from the Greek Cypriot community. Another 24 seats are reserved for Members coming from the Turkish Cypriot community but, due to the political situation on the island, are currently vacant. In addition, there are three observer members representing the Armenian, Latin and Maronite minorities. Voting for national parliamentary elections is compulsory.

The main functions of the Parliament are to vote on legislation (which can be introduced by Government ministers, individual Members or political groups in the Parliament) and on the budget, as well as to exercise control over the activities of the Government.

2. Composition

Results of the elections of 22 May 2016					
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats	
ΔΗΜΟΚΡΑΤΙΚΟΣ ΣΥΝΑΓΕΡΜΟΣ	Dimocratikos Synagermos (DISY) Democratic Rally		30.69	18	
	Anorthotiko Komma Ergazomenou Laou (AKEL) Progressive Party of Working People	GUE/NGL	25.67	16	
ΔH/KO	Dimocratiko Komma (DIKO) Democratic Party	S&D	14.49	9	
EAEK KINH M A ZOZIAAAHMOKPATON	EDEK - Kinima Sosialdimocratwn EDEK - Social-democratic Movement	S&D	6.18	3	
Seesing refusione	Symmachía Politón (Citizens' Alliance)		6.01	3	
Αλληλεγγύη	Kinima Allileggy (Solidarity) ECR	ECR	5.24	3	
OIKO/OFIQN TIEPIBA/AONTIZTON	Kinima Oikologwn-Perivallontistwn Cyprus Green Party		4.81	2	
	Ethniko Laiko Metopo (National Popular Front)		3.71	2	
			100%	56	
Turnout: 66.74%					
The next elections will take place in May 2021.					

3. Officeholders

President of the House of Representatives



Mr Demetris SYLLOURIS (Solidarity/ECR) since June 2016

Chair of Standing Committee of Foreign and European Affairs



Mr Yiorgos LILLIKAS (AKEL-GUE) since 2016

Secretary General of the House of Representatives: Mr Socrates Socratous

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Cypriot MEPs in	No
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Cypriot MEPs in	No
committee meetings	
Availability of videoconferencing system in	Yes
Cyprus House of Representatives	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.parliament.cy/
- Rules of procedure (Greek only)
- List of committees
- European Parliament Information Office in Nicosia

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the	Brussels-based contact of the Cyprus		
EP Directorate for Relations with National	House of Representatives:		
Parliaments:			
	Ms Mary SAVVA & Ms Maria SOTIRIOU		
Ms Vivi CHAVAKI	GEORGIOU		
Office MTY 08R001, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 03R018, 1047 Brussels		
Phone +32 2 28 44960	Phone +32 2 28 43338		
paraskevi.chavaki@europarl.europa.eu	mary.savva@natparl.ep.europa.eu		
	maria.sotiriou@natparl.ep.europa.eu		