

10th Asia-Europe Parliamentary Partnership Meeting (ASEP 10)

Brussels, 27 – 28 September 2018 European Parliament

Final programme (28/09/2018)

Thursday, 27 September		
7:45 -15.00	Registration at the European Parliament (Paul-Henri Spaak building)	
8:00 - 10:00	Preparatory and Drafting Committee (English only) (Room: P5B001, Paul-Henri Spaak building) Chaired by Ms Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament	
10:30 - 11:30	Plenary session: official opening (Room: Hemicycle, Paul-Henri Spaak building¹) Co-Chairs: Ms Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament, Hon Scott Ryan, President of the Australian Senate and Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament	
	Mr Yondonperenlei Baatarbileg, Member of the Parliament and Chair of Standing Committee of the Parliament of Mongolia for Social Policy, Education, Culture and Science, State Great Hural of Mongolia, (Host of the ASEP 9 meeting) Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament Mr Zhang Zhijun, Vice-Chairman, Committee of Foreign Affairs, National People's Congress of China	

¹ Interpretation provided in all EU languages (except Danish, Estonian, Slovak and Gaelic) as well as Russian. In Vietnamese and Khmer and Mongolian languages as requested by the participating delegations.

	,
11:30 - 12:30	Plenary session: Climate change, challenge for multilateralism (Room: Hemicycle, Paul-Henri Spaak building²) Ms Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament Mr Jo Leinen, EP draftsperson on climate change and Chair of the EP Delegation for relations with China Hon Scott Ryan, President of the Australian Senate Ms Carmen-Ileana Mihalcescu, Vice-President of the Chamber of Deputies, Romanian Parliament Ms Rosa María Romero Sánchez, 3rd Vice Speaker of the Congress of Deputies, Spain Mr Mauri Pekkarinen, 1st Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Finland Mr Phung Quoc Hien, Vice-President of the National Assembly, Vietnam Mr Ajay Kumar Mishra, Lok Sabha, India
12:30 - 12:45	The ASEP 10 Family Photo
12:45 - 13:00	Press Point with Ms Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament and Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch/Buffet hosted by the European Parliament (Yehudi Menuhin space, <i>Paul-Henri Spaak building</i>)
15:00 - 17:30	Asia & Europe facing climate change and increasing environmental challenges: sustainable development and circular economy, urban areas management, water resources cooperation, waste treatment and plastic reduction, food security, clean technologies

 $^{^2}$ Interpretation provided in all EU languages (except Danish, Estonian, Slovak and Gaelic) as well as Russian. In Vietnamese and Khmer languages as requested by the participating delegations.

Discussion Panel 1 (Room: Hemicycle, Paul-Henri Spaak building³)

Climate change and environment: impact on economy

Co-Chairs:

Mr Yuan Si, Vice-Chairman, Committee of environmental protection and resources conservation, National People's Congress of China Ms Neena Gill, 1st Vice-Chair Delegation for Relations

Expert:

Ms Lidy Nacpil, Coordinator - Asian Peoples Movement on Debt and Development (APMDD) and Co-Coordinator - Global Campaign to Demand Climate Justice, on behalf of Asia-Europe People's Forum (AEPF)

Key note speakers:

with India, European Parliament

Mr Allen Coliban, Chairman, Committee for Environment, Romania

Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament

Discussion Panel 2 (room: P5B001, Paul-Henri Spaak building⁴)

Climate change and environment: impact on migration

Co-Chairs:

Ms Irina Gekht, Deputy Chairperson of the Federation Council Committee for Agrarian and Food Policy and Environmental Management, Russian Federation Ms Jean Lambert, Chair of the Delegation for Relations with South Asia, European Parliament

³ Interpretation provided in all EU languages (except Danish, Estonian, Slovak and Gaelic) as well as Russian and Khmer.

⁴ Interpretation provided in BG, DE, FR, EN, ES, IT, NL, PL, RO, RU languages

	Experts:
	Ms Barbara Bonciani & Ms Serena Gianfaldoni,
	professors, University of Pisa
	Key note speakers:
	Mrs Assegaf Nurhayati Ali, Chairperson of the
	Committee for Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation,
	Indonesia
	Ms Ivelina Vassileva, Chairperson of the Environment
	and Water Committee of the National Assembly of the
	Republic of Bulgaria
	Discussion Panel 3 (room: P7C050, Paul-Henri Spaak
	building ⁵)
	Sanding)
	Climate change and environment: impact on
	security
	Co-Chairs:
	Mr Gleb Chshegelskiy, Chairman of Committee on
	Ecology Issues And Environmental Management Kazakhstan
	Ms Iveta Grigule-P terse, Chair of the Delegation for
	relations with Central Asia, European Parliament
	Expert:
	Mr Lukas Müller, research associate with the Asia-
	Europe Environment Forum under ASEF (Asia-Europe
	Foundation)
	Key note speakers: Mr Kul-Mukhammed Mukhtar,
	Senate of Kazakhstan
	Mrs Ljudmila Novak, Member of the Slovenian Parliament
	ramament
18:00	Visits of the House of European History for official
	delegates
	Dinner/Buffet at the House of European History

⁵ Interpretation provided in DE, FR, EN, ES, FI, CS, HU, SL, RO, RU languages

Friday, 28 September		
9:00 - 9:45	Plenary session: The ASEM Sustainable Connectivity Portal - presentation by Ms Ana Rita Neves, Joint Research Centre (JRC) followed by question & answer session (Room: Hemicycle, Paul-Henri Spaak building ⁶) Co-Chairs: Hon Scott Ryan, President of the Australian Senate and Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament	
	Plenary session, with reporting back from the thematic sessions (Room: Hemicycle, Paul-Henri Spaak building)	
	Co-Chairs: Ms Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament, Hon Scott Ryan, President of the Australian Senate and Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament	
9:45 - 10:30	Discussion Panel 1 Presentation by the Rapporteur Mr Francesco Giacobbe, Member of Senate, Senate of Italy	
10:30 - 11:15	Discussion Panel 2 Presentation by the Rapporteur Mr Chhit Kim Yeat, Vice Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs, Senate of Cambodia	
11:15 - 12:00	Discussion Panel 3 Presentation by the Rapporteur Mr Murat Bakhtiyaruly, Member of Senate, Senate of Kazakhstan	
12:00 - 12:10	Adoption of the Declaration of the ASEP 10	

 $^{^6}$ Interpretation provided in all EU languages (except Danish, Estonian, Maltese, Slovak and Gaelic) as well as Russian and Khmer.

12:10 - 12:30

Closing session

Mr Nicos Tornaritis, Deputy Chairman, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Foreign and European Affairs, Cyprus; Vice-President, Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA), Chairman, Standing Committee on Economic & Sustainable Development of the APA, Head of the Cyprus APA delegation

Mr Andrey Klimov, Deputy Chairman of the Federation Council Committee for Foreign Affairs, Russian Federation

Closing remarks by the Co-Chairs Hon Scott Ryan, President of the Australian Senate and Ms Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of the Bangladesh Parliament

Closing remarks by Ms Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament