

Factsheet: The Hellenic Parliament



1. At a glance

Greece is a parliamentary democracy. The Hellenic Parliament is comprised of 300 Members who are directly elected by the citizens under a combination of voting systems. Voting in Greece is compulsory.

The main functions of the Parliament are to vote on legislation (which can be introduced by Government ministers, individual Members or political groups in the Parliament, in accordance with the constitution) and to exercise democratic control over the activities of the Government and other state agencies.

Elections normally take place every four years, but early elections may be called by the Prime Minister at any time. Early elections are also foreseen by the Constitution in the case of loss of confidence to the Government following a relevant vote in Parliament, or in the case of inability to elect the President of the Republic.

2. Composition

emocratia emocracy oismos Rizospastikis Aristeras (SYRIZA) on of Radical Left ment fo Change ounistiko Komma Elladas	GUE/NGL S&D	39.85 31,53 8,10	158 86 22
on of Radical Left nent fo Change		Í	
<u> </u>		8,10	22
ounistiko Komma Flladas			
nist Party of Greece	Non- attached	5,30	15
Solution	ECR STREET	3,7	10
	No affiliation in the EP	3.44	9
		100%	300
	Solution 25 ean Realistic Disobedience Front Turnout: 57.91%	25 No affiliation in the EP	25 No affiliation in the EP 3.44 100%

3. Officeholders

Speaker of the Hellenic Parliament



Mr Konstantinos Tasoulas (ND/EPP), since 18 July 2019

1st VP and Chairperson of the Committee on European Affairs



Mr Nikitas Kaklamanis (ND/EPP), since 18 July 2019

Secretary General of the Hellenic Parliament: Mr. Georgios MYLONAKIS

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Greek MEPs in	No
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Greek MEPs in	Partially (Greek MEPs have the right to attend
committee meetings	the deliberations of the European Affairs
_	Committee but not to vote)
Availability of videoconferencing system in	Yes
Hellenic Parliament	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.hellenicparliament.gr/
- Rules of procedure (Greek only)
- List of committees
- European Parliament Information Office in Athens

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the	Brussels-based contact of the Hellenic
EP Directorate for Relations with National	Parliament
Parliaments:	
Ms Vivi Chavaki	Ms Eleni Sianna
Office MTY 08R001, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 03R020, 1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 28 44960	Phone +32 2 28 44564
paraskevi.chavaki@europarl.europa.eu	eleni.sianna@natparl.ep.europa.eu