

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments



Factsheet: The Slovenian National Assembly (Državni zbor)



1. At a glance

Slovenia is a republic and a parliamentary democracy. The Parliament of Slovenia has a bicameral structure and consists of the National Assembly (Državni zbor) which has 90 Members and the National Council (Državni svet) which has 40 Members. The Slovenian Parliament is considered as an "incomplete bicameral system", meaning that the upper chamber (National Council) does not have equal competences with the lower chamber (National Assembly) and therefore has less authority.

The National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia is the supreme representative and legislative institution, exercising legislative and electoral powers as well as control over the Executive. The Members of the National Assembly are directly elected by the citizens. An exception to the principle of universal and equal suffrage is the voting right of the members of the Italian and Hungarian national communities. The right to vote and be elected representative of these communities in the National Assembly is only enjoyed by the members of the communities, and not by all the citizens. Elections to the National Council must take place every four years at the latest, and are based on the principles of proportional representation. The voting age is 18 years.

The current Slovenian coalition government under Prime Minister Dr Miro Cerar (SMC/ALDE) is composed of the Party of Modern Center (SMC/ALDE), the Democratic Party of Pensioners in Slovenia (DeSUS/NI) and the Social Democrats (SD/S&D). The incumbent President, who was directly re-elected in 2017 by the citizens for a five-year term, is Mr Bohut Pahor.

2. Composition

Results of the National Assembly elections on 13 July 2014					
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats	
SMC stranka modernega centra	Stranka modernega centra (SMC) Party of Modern Center	**	34,6%	36	
SDS	Slovenska demokratska stranka (SDS) Slovenian Democratic Party		20,9%	21	
DeSUS	Demokratična stranka upokojencev Slovenije (DeSUS) Democratic Party of Pensioners in Slovenia	Non- attached	10,2%	10	
SD	Socialni demokrati (SD) Social democrats	S&D	5,9%	6	
ZDRUŽENA *LEVICA	Združena levica (ZL) United Left	Non- attached	5,9%	6	
N.SI MONTO SOMEWAY MASSAGE PROCESSES	Nova Slovenija - Krščanski demokrati (NSi) New Slovenia- Christian Democrats	Ç	5,5%	5	
Zavezništvo Alenke Bratušek	Zavezništvo Alenke Bratušek (ZaAB) (DISSOLVED) Alliance of Alenka Bratušek	**	4,3%	4	
	Representatives of the Hungarian and Italian minorities			2	
			100%	90	
Turnout: 50,99%					
The next National Assembly elections must take place in summer 2018 at the latest.					

3. Officeholders

President of the Slovenian National Assembly



Dr Milan Brglez (SMC/ALDE), since 2 August 2014

Chair of the EU Affairs Committee



Mr Kamal Izidor Shaker (SMC/ALDE), since 26 August 2014

Secretary General of the Slovenian National Assembly:

Ms Uršula Zore Tavčar, since 2 August 2014

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Slovenian MEPs in	No
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Slovenian MEPs in	Yes (Slovenian MEPs are always invited to
committee meetings	the sessions of the EU Affairs Committee and
_	have the right to participate in the debate.
	Occasionally they are invited to present a
	specific item on the agenda, usually it is the
	state of play of a particular EU dossier)
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No
Slovenian National Assembly	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.dz-rs.si
- Rules of procedure in English
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the National Assembly to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in Ljubljana

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the Slovenian National Assembly:
Ms Monika MOENS DE FERNIG Office WIE 05U022, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 32364 monika.moensdefernig@ep.europa.eu	Mr Zvonko BERGANT Office WIE 06U032, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 41359 romana.novak@natparl.ep.europa.eu