

Directorate-General for the Presidency

Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

# Factsheet: The Austrian National Council



#### 1. At a glance

Austria is a federal republic and a parliamentary democracy. The Austrian Parliament is a bicameral body composed of the National Council (Nationalrat) and the Federal Council (Bundesrat).

The 183 Members of the National Council are directly elected by the citizens. Elections to the National Council must take place every five years at the latest, and are based on the principles of proportional representation, an open list system and preferential votes. Austria is the only EU country where the voting age for national Parliamentary elections is 16.

In most cases, the National Council issues federal legislation in conjunction with the Federal Council. However, with some rare exceptions the Federal Council only has a so-called "suspensive" veto right. The National Council can override a challenge by the Federal Council to one of its resolutions by voting on the resolution again.

Elections were held on 29 September 2019. On 7 October 2019, President Alexander Van der Bellen tasked Sebastian Kurz (ÖVP/EPP) to start coalition negotiations.

#### 2. Composition

Results of the elections on 29 September 2019 and current composition				
	Party	EP affiliation	%	Seats
ÖVP	Österreichische Volkspartei (ÖVP) Austrian People's Party	epp group in the european parliament	37,5%	71
SPÖ	Sozialdemok ratische Partei Osterreichs (SPO) Social Democratic Party of Austria	S&D	21,2%	40
FPO	Freiheitliche Partei Österreichs (FPÖ) Freedom Party of Austria	'D	16,2%	31
DIE GRÜNEN GRUNE AT	<b>Die Grünen</b> The Greens	****	13,9%	26
neos	NEOS	renew europe.	8,1%	15
	Others		3,2%	-
			100%	183
Turnout: 75,6 % . The next elections will be held in 2023.				

### 3. Officeholders

## President of the National Council, Chairperson of the Main Committee on Matters of the European Union



Mr Wolfgang Sobotka (ÖVP/EPP), since 20 December 2017

## Second President of the National Council, Chairperson of the Standing Sub-Committee on Matters of the European Union



Ms Doris Bures (SPÖ/S&D), since 9 November 2017

#### Third President of the National Council



Mr. Norbert Hofer (FPÖ/ID), since 29 October 2019

Secretary General of the Austrian Parliament: Mr Harald Dossi, since 1 March 2012

## 4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Austrian MEPs in plenary sittings	Each political group in the National Council can nominate one MEP elected in Austria from the same party to speak during a plenary debate on an EU topic.
Participation rights for Austrian MEPs in committee meetings	MEPs elected in Austria have the right to attend the deliberations of the Main Committee on matters of the European Union, as well as other committees when they are debating certain EU topics. (More details in the rules of procedure.)
Availability of videoconferencing system in Austrian National Council	No

## 5. Information links

- Official website: <a href="http://www.parlament.gv.at">http://www.parlament.gv.at</a>
- Rules of procedure in English
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the National Council to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in Vienna

## 6. Contacts

Contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments and factsheet	Brussels-based contact of the Austrian National Council:		
author:			
Ms Hanneke Westerbaan Office MTY 07R016, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 31069	Mr Sophie Velberg Office MTY 05R020, 1047 Brussels Phone +32 2 28 43896		
hanneke.westerbaan@ep.europa.eu	sophie.velberg@natparl.ep.europa.eu		