

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies



1. At a glance

The Parliament of Luxembourg is a unicameral Parliament. The Chamber of Deputies, composed of 60 Members, is elected by universal suffrage. Members are directly elected to five year terms from four constituencies. The President is appointed at the beginning of each session.

The Executive Office consists of the President, three Vice-Presidents, a maximum of seven Members and the general secretary (without the right to vote), represents the Chamber at national and international level and rules on questions of financial and organisational nature concerning deputies, the parliament, its administration and bodies. The Conference of Presidents is made up by Presidents of the political groups under the chairmanship of the President of the Chamber. It fixes the time and duration of debates in plenary.

The Grand Duke signs the bill or proposed law to enter into force; he is entitled to convene an extraordinary session; and may dissolve parliament on condition that there are elections within three months.

Following the elections in October 2013, the Democratic Party (ALDE), the Socialist Party (S&D) and the Greens formed a coalition government led by Prime Minister Xavier Bettel (Democratic Party/ALDE).

2. Composition

Results of the elections of 20 October 2013					
	Party	EP Affiliation	%	Seats	
CSV	CSV Chrëschtlech-Sozial Vollekspartei Christian Social People Party	O	33,68	23	
LSAP	LSAP D'SOZIALISTEN Socialists	S&D	20,28	13	
ENGLANDES STATES	DP - Demokratesch Partei Democratic Party	****	18,25	13	
grang	déi gréng Greens		10,13	6	
adr: ALTERNATIV DELIGIORATES ON REFORMERTE!	A.D.R. Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei (Alternative Democratic Reform Party	ECR	6,64	3	
déi Lénk 🔊	déi Lénk Left	GUE/NGL	4,94	2	
Turnout: 91.15%					
The next elections must take place in autumn 2018 at the latest.					

3. Officeholders

President of the Chamber

Chairperson of the Committee on Foreign and European Affairs, Defence, Cooperation and Immigration



Mr Mars Di Bartolomeo (LSAP/S&D), since 5 December 2013



Mr Marc Angel (LSAP/S&D), since 5 December 2013

Secretary General of the Chamber: Mr Claude Frieseisen, since 8 October 2002

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Luxembourgish	No	
MEPs in plenary sittings		
Participation rights for Luxembourgish	Partially ("On the occasion of the	
MEPs in committee meetings	consideration of a bill or proposal, the review	
	of draft guidelines or European regulations or	
	when writing a report ")	
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No	
the Chamber of Deputies		

5. Information links

- Official website
- Rules of procedure (in French)
- <u>List of committees</u>
- Recent documents submitted by the Chamber to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in Luxembourg

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments:	Brussels-based contact of the Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies:
Mr. Ulrich Hüschen	Mr. Frédéric Bohler
Office WIE 05U45, 1047 Brussels	Office WIE 06U044, 1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 284 4870	Phone +32 2 28 40733
ulrich.hueschen@ep.europa.eu	frederic.bohler@natparl.ep.europa.eu

Last updated on 04/05/2015. Photo credits: Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies.