

COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND TOURISM

Interparliamentary Committee Meeting

"EU Investing in its Transport Networks beyond 2020"

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

15.00 - 18.30

European Parliament, Brussels József Antall building, room 4Q1

15.00 – 15.05	Opening by Ms Karima DELLI, Chairwoman of the Committee on Transport and Tourism
15.05 – 15.20	Keynote speech by Mr Günther OETTINGER, Commissioner for Budget & Human Resources
15:20 - 16:00	Debate / question and answers

Moderator: Ms Karima DELLI, Chairwoman of the Committee on

Transport and Tourism

16.00 - 16.35

Mr Jean-Louis COLSON, Head of Unit, responsible for transport investments in DG MOVE, EC

Mr Mathieu GROSCH, European Coordinator for the Orient/East-Med Corridor

Mr Daniel IBANEZ, Economist

Mr Mark van DIJK, Head of External Affairs, Port of Rotterdam

16.35 – 17.15 Debate / question and answers

Possible topics and positions during SESSION 1 could include:

Objectives and achievements of TEN-T policy:

- Evaluation of past EU infrastructure policies against the background of the "Single European Transport Area" objectives,
- Barriers to linking up transport networks and operations across borders,
- Progress towards a multi-modal and sustainable transport system networking all the Member States.

Core network corridors:

- Benefits and challenges of a cross-functional approach across both national borders and transport modes,
- Role of the maritime transport dimension (Motorways of the Sea) and interoperable railways (ERMTS),
- Contributions to the development of a comprehensive network.

Possible synergies of objectives and projects at EU level:

- TEN-T policy and Cohesion policy,
- Transport links to neighbouring countries in Europe and beyond,
- R&I.
- Environmental and other policy areas, as transport is bound to become more digital and decarbonize,
- Link between TEN-T and tourism policies in view of the potential economic benefits.

Opportunities for National Parliaments to support TEN-T policy implementation.

SESSION 2:	Challenges and perspectives for the post-2020 period in the
	field of transport infrastructure investments

Moderator: Ms Karima DELLI, Chairwoman of the Committee on

Transport and Tourism

17.15 - 17.45

Mr Henrik HOLOLEI, Director General, DG MOVE, EC

Mr Gavin DUNNETT, Director of Projects department on Mobility, European Investment Bank

Mr Brian SIMPSON, European Coordinator of the Commission's project, Motorways of the Sea

17.45 – 18.25 Debate / question and answers

Possible topics and positions during SESSION 2 could include:

- Coherent setting of priorities at European and national levels: keys to success.
- Funding transport infrastructures in the context of the next MFF: what changes can be expected?
- Ensuring an optimal mix of financing instruments: what co-financing works best?
- Broadening the scope of private sector involvement through innovative financial instruments; what role for foreign investments?
- Cohesion Fund (CF) and the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF): is more flexibility needed?
- National Parliaments' views on the related EU actions (e.g. on providing technical assistance and guidance on projects, synergies with other sectors such as energy and digital communication, coherence of national and EU transport infrastructure planning, facilitating preparation and execution of cross-border projects, etc.)
- 18.25 Closing remarks by Ms Karima DELLI, Chairwoman TRAN
 Committee
- 18.30 End of programme

.