

Directorate-General for the Presidency

Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Czech Senate



Wallenstein Palace, seat of the Czech Senate

1. At a glance

The Czech Republic is a parliamentary democracy. The Czech Parliament (*Parlament České republiky*) is made up of two Chambers, both directly elected – the Chamber of Deputies (*Poslanecká sněmovna*) and the Senate (*Senát*).

The 81 senators in the Senate are elected for six years. Every other year one third of them are elected which makes the Senate a permanent institution that cannot be dissolved and continuously performs its work. Elections to the Senate are held by secret ballot based on universal, equal suffrage, pursuant to the principles of the majority system. Unlike the Lower Chamber, a candidate for the Senate does not need to be on a political party's ticket.

Senators, like MPs have the right to take part in election of judges of the Constitutional Court, and may propose new laws. However, the Senate does not get to vote on the country budget and does not supervise the executive directly. The Senate can delay a proposed law, which was approved by the Chamber. However this veto can, with some rare exceptions, be overridden by an absolute majority of the Chamber in a repeated vote.

2. Composition

Composition of Senate following the elections of 5-6 October & 12-13 October 2018			
	Party	EP affiliation	Seats
STAROSTOVÉ A NEZÁVISLÍ 14	Starostové a nezávislí (STAN) Mayors and Independents	ерр	19
ODS 🚩	Občanská demokratická strana (ODS) Civic Democratic Party	ECR EUROPEAN CONSERVATIVES AND REFORMISTS GROUP	18
KDU-ČSL	Křesťanská a demokratická unie - Československá strana lidová (KDU-ČSL) Christian-Democratic Union – Czechoslovak People's Party	epp	15
9	Česká strana sociálně demokratická (ČSSD) Czech Social Democratic Party	S&D	13
A LIP	ANO 2011	renew europe.	7
VSENÁTOR 21	Senátor 21 Senator 21	Not affiliated	6
	Non-attached		3
The next elections must take place in autumn 2020 at the latest.			

3. Officeholders

President of the Senate



Mr Miloš VYSTRČIL (ODS – Civic Democratic Party/ECR) Since 19 February 2020

Chairperson of the Committee on EU Affairs



Mr Václav HAMPL (KDU-ČSL and Independents/EPP) since 14 November 2018

Secretary-General of the Czech Senate: Ms Jana Vohralíková, as of 1st September 2019

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Czech MEPs in	No
plenary sittings	
Participation rights for Czech MEPs in	Partially (Czech MEPs may attend committee
committee meetings	meetings and may express their opinion and
	submit proposals, but they are only entitled to
	an advisory vote.)
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No
the Czech Senate	

5. Information links

- Official website: http://www.senat.cz/
- The Standing Rules (rules of procedure) in English
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the Czech Senate to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Liaison Office in Prague

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the EP Directorate for Relations with National	Brussels-based contact of the Czech Senate:
Parliaments:	
Ms Vivi CHAVAKI	No representative
Office MTY 08R001, 1047 Brussels	Contact: GrincJ@senat.cz
Phone +32 2 28 44960	
paraskevi.chavaki@europarl.europa.eu	