

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments

Factsheet: The Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies



1. At a glance

The Parliament of Luxembourg is a unicameral Parliament. The Chamber of Deputies, composed of 60 Members, is elected by universal suffrage. Members are directly elected to five year terms from four constituencies. The President is appointed at the beginning of each session.

The Executive Office consists of the President, three Vice-Presidents, a maximum of seven Members and the general secretary (without the right to vote), represents the Chamber at national and international level and rules on questions of financial and organisational nature concerning deputies, the parliament, its administration and bodies. The Conference of Presidents is made up by Presidents of the political groups under the chairmanship of the President of the Chamber. It fixes the time and duration of debates in plenary. The Grand Duke signs the bill or proposed law to enter into force; he is entitled to convene an extraordinary session; and may dissolve parliament on condition that there are elections within three months.

As a result of the elections on 14 October 2018, the CSV, LSAP and DP lost votes while the Greens gained 3 new seats and the Pirates secured their first two. ADR gained one additional seat. The coalition government of Democratic Party (ALDE), the Socialist Party (S&D) and the Greens led by Prime Minister Xavier Bettel (Democratic Party/ALDE) kept a thin majority of 31 seats out of 60 in Parliament. Negotiations have started between the parties of the existing government of DP, LSAP and Greens to continue their coalition.

2. Composition

Results of the elections of 14 October 2018					
	Party	EP Affiliation	%	Seats	
CSV	CSV Chrëschtlech-Sozial Vollekspartei Christian Social People Party	Ó	28,31	21	
LSAP	LSAP D'SOZIALISTEN Socialists	S&D	17,6	10	
E STATE OF THE STA	DP - Demokratesch Partei Democratic Party	****	16,91	12	
grang	déi gréng Greens		15,12	9	
adr: ALTERNATIV DEMOKRATESON REFORMMARTE!	A.D.R. Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei (Alternative Democratic Reform Party	ECR	8,28	4	
déi Lénk e	déi Lénk Left	GUE/NGL	5,48	2	
PIRATEN	PIRATEN	GUE/NGL	6,45	2	
	Turnout: 92,77%	•	•		
	The next elections must take place in autum	n 2022 at the late	est.		

3. Officeholders

President of the Chamber



Mr Fernand Etgen (DP/ALDE)

Chairperson of the Committee of Foreign and European Affairs, Cooperation, Immigration and Asylum



Mr Yves Cruchten (LSAP/S&D)

Secretary General of the Chamber: Mr Laurent Scheeck, since 1 March 2020

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Luxembourgish	No		
MEPs in plenary sittings			
Participation rights for Luxembourgish	Partially ("On the occasion of the		
MEPs in committee meetings	consideration of a bill or proposal, the review		
	of draft guidelines or European regulations or		
	when writing a report ")		
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No		
the Chamber of Deputies			

5. Information links

- Official website
- Rules of procedure (in French)
- List of committees
- Recent documents submitted by the Chamber to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)
- European Parliament Information Office in Luxembourg

6. Contacts

Contact in the	Brussels-based contact of the Luxembourg	
EP Directorate for Relations with National	Chamber of Deputies:	
Parliaments:		
Ms Christine Detourbet	Ms Elisabeth Funk	
Office MTY 08R002, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 05R006, 1047 Brussels	
Phone +32 2 28 42287	Phone +32 2 28 40733	
christine.detourbet@europarl.europa.eu	elisabeth.funk@natparl.ep.europa.eu	

Last updated on 01 April 2020. Photo credits: Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies.