

Directorate-General for the Presidency
Directorate for Relations with National Parliaments





1. At a glance

Belgium is a federal state with a federal Parliament consisting of two chambers, the House of Representatives (Kamer van volksvertegenwoordigers/Chambre des représentants) and the Senate (Senaat/Sénat). The regions (Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels) and the communities (Flemish, French-speaking and German-speaking) have their own elected assemblies.

The 2014 elections were the first ones without a direct election of senators. Based on the sixth State reform of October 2011, the 71-Member Senate, which comprised 40 directly elected Members, was transformed into a 60-Member indirectly elected body, comprising 50 senators of the federal entities designated by Community and Regional Parliaments and 10 co-opted senators, selected by the 50 senators. Six Dutch-speaking Members and four French-speaking Members will be co-opted based on the election results of the House of Representatives.

The **Federal Advisory Committee for European Affairs** is composed of 30 Members: 10 Members of the Senate, 10 Members of the House of Representatives and 10 Members of the European Parliament elected in Belgium.

2. Composition

Results of the Senate renewal on 26 May 2019					
	Party	EP affiliation	Community & Regional	Co- opted	TOTAL
DENKEN.DURVEN.DOEN.	Nieuw-Vlaamse Alliantie (N-VA) New Flemish Alliance	ECR	8	1	9
GROEN	Groen Flemish Green Party Ecolo Greens-Walloon	THIS CRITICAL PLAN	7	2	9
MR	Mouvement Réformateur (MR) Movement for Reform	renew europe.	6	1	7
VLAAMS BELANG	Vlaams Belang (VB) Flemish Interest	'D	6	1	7
PS	Parti Socialiste (PS) Socialist Party - Walloon	S&D	6	1	7
CD ₂ /	Christen-Democratisch en Vlaams (CD&V) Christian Democratic and Flemish	Себь	4	1	5
open vla	Open Vlaamse Liberalen en Democraten (Open Vld) Open Flemish Liberals and Democrats	renew europe.	4	1	5
PVDA PTB	Partij van de Arbeid van België/ Parti du Travail de Belgique (PVDA-PTB) Workers' Party	GUE/NGL European United Left - Norde Green Left	4	1	5

Sp.a	Socialistische Partij Anders (sp.a) Socialist Party–Differently (Flemish)	S&D	3	1	4	
cdh	Centre démocrate humaniste (cdH) Humanist Democratic Centre	Серр	2	0	2	
	Total		50	10	60	
The next Senate renewal will take place in 2024.						

3. Officeholders

President of the Senate



Ms Sabine LAURELLE (MR/RE), since 18 July 2019

Chairperson of the Federal Advisory Committee for European Affairs

To be elected

(The Committee is chaired alternatively and for the duration of a full legislature by the Speaker of the House of Representatives or the Chairman of the delegation of the Belgian Senate.)

Secretary General of the Belgian Senate: Mr Gert Van der Biesen since 1 May 2016.

4. Relations with Members of the European Parliament

Participation rights for Belgian MEPs in	No		
plenary sittings			
Participation rights for Belgian MEPs in	In the committee meetings the MEPs can		
committee meetings	neither take part in the debate nor vote.		
Availability of videoconferencing system in	No		
Belgian Senate			

5. Information links

Official website: http://www.senate.be

Rules of procedure in French

List of committees

Recent documents submitted by the Senate to the Interparliamentary EU Information Exchange (IPEX)

European Parliament Liaison Office in Brussels

6. Contacts

Factsheet author and contact in the	Contact of the Belgian Senate:
EP Directorate for Relations with National	
Parliaments:	
Ms Zsuzsanna BALÁZS	Mr Michel VANDEBORNE
Office MTY 07R022, 1047 Brussels	Office MTY 03R002, 1047 Brussels
Phone +32 2 28 43608	Phone +32 2 28 31184
zsuzsanna.balazs@ep.europa.eu	michel.vandeborne@natparl.ep.europa.eu